

Lake Winnipesaukee PHRF Sailing Fleet 2016 Annual Report

The 2016 LWSA PHRF fleet had another successful year on the waters of Lake Winnipesaukee. The skippers and crew had nine days of successful sailing events which began in May and culminated with the Octoberfest celebration and awards ceremony at Fay's Boatyard on October 1, 2016.

The fleet competed in two series over the course of the year including; the laid back "Take Your Time" series which introduces sailors to the sport of sailboat racing and the more competitive "Cruiser Racer" series for those with some added experience and desire to further test their skills.

The "Take Your Time" series had three successful days of sailing with 9 boats competing throughout the series. The competition was tight but the final end of year awards went to 1) "Next Best Thing" and skipper Dale Sanders, 2) "Haleakala" and skipper Bob Garland and 3) "Czech Mate" and skipper Jean-Pierre Czech.

The "Cruiser Racer Series" had 5 events which included the ever popular JBT charity event hosted by the Winnipesaukee Yacht Club as well as the annual Fay's Boatyard Production Boat race which was won by Don Parsons in Anticipation. This series also saw 9 boats competing with the final end of season awards going to ironically the same skippers as the "Take Your Time Series" 1)"Next Best Thing" and skipper Dale Sanders, 2)"Haleakala" and skipper Bob Garland and 3) "Czech Mate" and skipper Jean-Pierre Czech.

In addition to the two series events detailed above, the LWSA hosted the annual double handed "Frying Pan" event on Labor Day weekend. This event saw nine boats compete on a beautiful Friday evening including: Shamrock, Pressure, Mistress, Haleakala, Fireworks, Whimsy, Painkiller, Anticipation, Czechmate, Sun Bear and Nirvana. The winners in the Racing Division were Guy and Jill Nickerson in Pressure and the winners in the Cruising Division were Al Posnack and Bob Knowles in Whimsy. A special thanks to the Race Committee of Marty Barrett with his boat "Almost Heaven II" and Frank Hoell for their outstanding efforts that evening.

The overall "Yacht of the Year" went to Dale Sanders in "Next Best Thing" while the "Corinthian Award" for the sailor that demonstrates all that is good about sailing and the sportsmanship associated with the sport of sailing went to Steve Porter who crewed on several different boats in every single LWSA PHRF event this year.

Congratulations to all the competitors this year including: Haleakala, Fireworks, Whimsy, Pressure, Mistress, Shamrock, MOJO, Painkiller, Claddagh, Anticipation, Czech Mate, Sun Bear, Nirvana, Next Best Thing, Miramar, Sugar Mountain, Forlig Vind, Blueberry Pie, Sanity Island, Renaissance, Sun Cat and Kookaburra. We hope to increase the amount of boats on the water next year.